Frequency range and other recording issues with Matrix Voice

I just got my Matrix Voice and soon after the initial setup ran into issues with frequency range and sampling rate. Please excuse my ignorance if I missed something obvious since I am new to this.

1) Audio recorded with arecord at 48kHz sampling rate:

Recording command:
arecord -c 8 -f S16_LE -r 48000 -d 5 fs48000.wav

Observations:

Questions:

• Why are no frequencies above 15kHz present in the recording? The MP34DB02 mems microphones used by Matrix Voice have the frequency range of 20Hz-20kHz according to this datasheet (see 2.3 Frequency response paragraph).

2) Audio recorded with arecord at 96kHz sampling rate:

Recording command:
arecord -c 8 -f S16_LE -r 96000 -d 5 fs96000.wav

Observations:

• The “overrun” warnings are often reported during recording:

Recording WAVE ‘fs96000.wav’ : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 96000 Hz, Channels 8
    overrun!!! (at least 0.939 ms long)
    overrun!!! (at least 0.960 ms long)

• Similarly as when using the 48kHz sample rate, frequencies above 15kHz are not present in the recording.
  • The recorded audio contains crackling noises not present in the original audio.

Questions:

3) Audio recorded with mic_record_file (from matrix-hal-examples) at 48kHz sampling rate:

Recording command:
matrix-hal-examples/build/microphone_array/mic_record_file --duration 5 --sampling_frequency 48000

Observations:

• Audible crackling noise can be heard every second.
  • Frequencies above 1700Hz are mostly not present in the recording, except of a spike at 15kHz. This is clearly visible in the attached spectrogram:
  • After I finished recording with mic_record_file, it was not possible to use arecord any more, because the latter reported the following error: arecord: main:788: audio open error: Device or resource busy

Questions:

• Why are only frequencies up to 1700Hz present in the recording?